The Secret Ingredient

Last week, I posted about how excited I was to design a facilitated event completely from scratch, completely my own. It’s happening tonight, which is why I’m glad that yesterday evening I remembered the secret ingredient.

cookies 003

No event has ever gone badly when I brought homemade chocolate chip cookies.

Here is my mother’s recipe, which I committed to memory years ago, and which I’ll be using tonight.

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup butter
  • vanilla – enough
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • baking powder – enough
  • baking soda – enough
  • salt – enough
  • 4 cups rolled oats (optional: grind them up in a blender first)
  • chocolate chips – enough

Cream together the sugar, eggs, vanilla, and butter. In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients: flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt. Add the sugar, eggs, and butter mixture to the mixed dry ingredients. Stir in the rolled oats and the chocolate chips.

Bake at 350/375, for long enough (8-12 minutes).

One thought on “The Secret Ingredient

Leave a Reply

